Group News
Thanks Badge for Shooting Range

A Scouts 'Thanks Badge' was presented to Chris Hobbs-Rex for constructing a superb Shooting Range for use by all the Group members. Chris, having facilities at his Company, Stagecraft Visual Communications, situated in Higham Ferrers, designed and manufactured the range free of charge - a great and much appreciated donation which became one of Irthlingborough's greater assets! Congratulations!

Irthlingborough Scouts Open Day 8th July 2017

Irthlingborough Scout are holding an open day at Parson's Green on the 8th of July between 10am and 2pm. Come and meet your local Scout team past and present to see how scouting benefits your local community. The team will be hosting activities include:

  • Fire lighting & Backwoods cooking
  • Tent pitching, water purification
  • Pioneering, knots & lashings
  • Craft activities & Games
An Adult Informational stall and Hot dogs & refreshments will also be available

Download Full details here


Annual General Meeting 2017

The 109th Group Annual General Meeting was held on 18th May 2017 at the Harold Bugby Scout Centre. There was an excellent attendance and we welcomed the County Commissioner Mr.Dean Smith, our Nene Valley District Commissioner, our Training Commissioner ,Allan Short our Mayor, Cllr.John Gray and our Trustees.

The Chairman opened the meeting, the Secretary circulated the 2016 minutes and the Treasurer presented the Financial Statement.

Awards were presented to the best Beaver, best Cub and Best Scout.

Best BeaverBest Cub

A Special Award was given to the Explorer Scout who had given outstanding service to the Group.

Thanks Badges went to Steve Kurn, Addy Kench and John Beeden to acknowledge their generosity and support for the Group.

Our former Group Scout Leader, Nicholas Powell was presented with the Award of Merit by our Training Commissioner Tony Knott.

Nicholas Powell

Long Service Awards were presented to Shaun Pentlow, Robert Marriott, Mike Digby, Jay Drage and Alan Watts.

Fred Harris was presented with a Medal and Photograph to acknowledge his 4 Woodbadges!

ABCD awards were given to Claire Sumner, Karen Hutchinson and Lyle Abbott for special service to the Scout Group.

The Beavers gave Medals to the Mayor and to Cllr.Gray to thank them for supporting the Beavers with their badge-work in tidying the Council gardens Angela Bridge from the Irthlingborough I-Grow Committee presented a cheque to Scouting for our support for Town Events.

Finally, the Certificate for gaining her Group Scout Leaders Woodbadge was presented to Lisa Swainston.

In his comments the County Commissioner paid tribute to the longevity of Scouting in Irthlingborough placing the Scout Group in the "Premier League of Scouting" Teas and coffees were served by the Scout Troop.

St George's Day 2017

On April 23rd the Beavers, Cubs, Scouts and Explorer Scouts met at the Headquarters and proudly processed to St.Peter's Church for the Annual St.George's Day Service and renewal of Promises. Fr.John Hall addressed the Young People.They renewed their promises and paraded their Colours. Afterwards a Barbecue was provided for the Young People and their families at the Stanwick Lakes Arena, this being arranged by the Scout Active Support Unit ISASU. The changeable weather turned out fine and sunny for us!

Irthlingborough Civic Service 2017

On Sunday 5th March the Group was invited to attend the Annual Mayor's Civic Service which was supported by many Local Civic Leaders and particularly Her Majesty's Lord Lieutenant for Northamptonshire, Mr.David Laing.

My thanks to the Beavers, Cubs, Scouts and Explorer Scouts, Frederick Harris and Lyle Abbott who joined me the event at St.Peter's Church.

The Lord Lieutenant was very pleased to meet with the Young People and had a personal word with them all.

Well done to all the Young People for your smart presentation and impeccable behaviour in Church and to proudly parading our Colours.

Lisa Swainston

Group Scout Leader

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 5 of 10