Diary Dates

Designed by:

AWARDS at Nene valley District AGM - 24.11.20

The District Commissioner, Michele Hunt, was pleased to confirm the Awards to Leaders, Supporters and SASU Members and offer congratulations to acknowledge their Good Services to Irthlingborough Scouting.


Irthlingborough Scout Group Annual General Meeting

It was very different this year 2020! As we were unable to meet as usual in May, we decided to have ZOOM Meeting on August 19th 2020 - all our Team, Visitors and Scouting Commissioners were invited. The Meeting was opened in the regular manner, apologies received and the 2019 Minutes adopted. The Treasurer, Shaun Pentlow offered the Audited Accounts, noted that we had received Gift Aid from HM Government and several valuable Grants to support us during the current emergency regulations. Our Group Scout Leader, Isobel Stevenson, reported on the activities by the Young People over the last year to April 2020 and thanked the Leader Team and Supporters(SASU)for their ongoing work for Irthlingborough Scouting. All our members are being kept in touch until normal Scouting meetings can resume. Our Annual Tote was well supported despite current difficulties and provides a regular income. Thanks were recorded to Cyndy Phillips, Tote Organiser.

The Irthlingborough Scout Trust, through Trustee Andy Linnell, confirmed the annual use of the building at the usual nominal fee. Group Executive Committee members were confirmed for a further year.

**A special Presentation was made via 'Zoom' to Jess Strike who had not only gained the Duke of Edinburgh Award in 2019 but the Queens Scout Badge in 2020.

The District Commissioner, Michele Hunt then made 'electronic' presentations to the Adult Award winners - and congratulated them (pictures below). The Chairman, Lyle Abbott, presented the Thanks Badge to Robert Marriott (SASU Member and Quartermaster) for his work especially in looking after our assets during the emergency. Our Town Mayor, Adrian Winkle was pleased to present the Mayors's Award to Karen Hutchinson, our Scout Leader, for her outstanding work with the Town's Young People. East Northamptonshire Council Chair, Dudley Hughes joined the meeting and especially complimented the Scouts who provided the Honour Guard for the Civic Service at Chelveston in February 2020. Assistant County Commissioner Jonathan Hazell complimented the Group on its progress and the excellent work of our Leader Team. After a vote of thanks from the Chairman the meeting was closed-being a 'first' for a Group clocking up 112 years of Scouting!


Since the advice from Scout Headquarters on March 16th 2020, we have complied by suspending contact activities until further notice. The Executive Committee has made sure of our assets by closing our Headquarters Building, keeping it insured and secure. Some activities have gone on with competitions and electronic contact with our Members being carried on by our Leader Team by Facebook and Whatsap! Leaders and Supporters have continued with their Leader and Safeguarding Training as well as keeping in touch. Our Annual General Meeting, a yearly highlight, has been postponed and we will announce a new date in due course, when we are permitted to meet again in some form. The Executive Committee and our Treasurer are preparing the Accounts for the year 2019/2020 which will be reviewed when we can meet together for this purpose and to give out Awards and Acknowledgments to our Leaders and Young People. You can see below some of the activities that we have managed to run. Thank you and we'll see you all soon Lyle ABBOTT Isobel Stevenson Group Chairman Group Scout Leader.

Please click here to download full letter.


Scout Group Tote Winner 2019

Congratulations to Andy Hunt for winning the 2019 Tote Bonus Christmas Hamper! Andy was a founder member of the 'tote' and supports us annually - who no also supports Scouting in Irthlingborough?

Training Award for Claire!

At a recent meeting of our Beaver Colony, Claire Sumner received her Woodbadge Training Award from the Nene Valley Training Commissioner, Tony Knott. Claire had worked hard to achieve the award and we send our CONGRATULATIONS to her! Well done !

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 3 of 23