Irthlingborough Scout Group Annual General Meeting

It was very different this year 2020! As we were unable to meet as usual in May, we decided to have ZOOM Meeting on August 19th 2020 - all our Team, Visitors and Scouting Commissioners were invited. The Meeting was opened in the regular manner, apologies received and the 2019 Minutes adopted. The Treasurer, Shaun Pentlow offered the Audited Accounts, noted that we had received Gift Aid from HM Government and several valuable Grants to support us during the current emergency regulations. Our Group Scout Leader, Isobel Stevenson, reported on the activities by the Young People over the last year to April 2020 and thanked the Leader Team and Supporters(SASU)for their ongoing work for Irthlingborough Scouting. All our members are being kept in touch until normal Scouting meetings can resume. Our Annual Tote was well supported despite current difficulties and provides a regular income. Thanks were recorded to Cyndy Phillips, Tote Organiser.

The Irthlingborough Scout Trust, through Trustee Andy Linnell, confirmed the annual use of the building at the usual nominal fee. Group Executive Committee members were confirmed for a further year.

**A special Presentation was made via 'Zoom' to Jess Strike who had not only gained the Duke of Edinburgh Award in 2019 but the Queens Scout Badge in 2020.

The District Commissioner, Michele Hunt then made 'electronic' presentations to the Adult Award winners - and congratulated them (pictures below). The Chairman, Lyle Abbott, presented the Thanks Badge to Robert Marriott (SASU Member and Quartermaster) for his work especially in looking after our assets during the emergency. Our Town Mayor, Adrian Winkle was pleased to present the Mayors's Award to Karen Hutchinson, our Scout Leader, for her outstanding work with the Town's Young People. East Northamptonshire Council Chair, Dudley Hughes joined the meeting and especially complimented the Scouts who provided the Honour Guard for the Civic Service at Chelveston in February 2020. Assistant County Commissioner Jonathan Hazell complimented the Group on its progress and the excellent work of our Leader Team. After a vote of thanks from the Chairman the meeting was closed-being a 'first' for a Group clocking up 112 years of Scouting!