Annual General Meeting 2017 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Lyle Abbott   
Friday, 26 May 2017 06:55

The 109th Group Annual General Meeting was held on 18th May 2017 at the Harold Bugby Scout Centre. There was an excellent attendance and we welcomed the County Commissioner Mr.Dean Smith, our Nene Valley District Commissioner, our Training Commissioner ,Allan Short our Mayor, Cllr.John Gray and our Trustees.

The Chairman opened the meeting, the Secretary circulated the 2016 minutes and the Treasurer presented the Financial Statement.

Awards were presented to the best Beaver, best Cub and Best Scout.

Best BeaverBest Cub

A Special Award was given to the Explorer Scout who had given outstanding service to the Group.

Thanks Badges went to Steve Kurn, Addy Kench and John Beeden to acknowledge their generosity and support for the Group.

Our former Group Scout Leader, Nicholas Powell was presented with the Award of Merit by our Training Commissioner Tony Knott.

Nicholas Powell

Long Service Awards were presented to Shaun Pentlow, Robert Marriott, Mike Digby, Jay Drage and Alan Watts.

Fred Harris was presented with a Medal and Photograph to acknowledge his 4 Woodbadges!

ABCD awards were given to Claire Sumner, Karen Hutchinson and Lyle Abbott for special service to the Scout Group.

The Beavers gave Medals to the Mayor and to Cllr.Gray to thank them for supporting the Beavers with their badge-work in tidying the Council gardens Angela Bridge from the Irthlingborough I-Grow Committee presented a cheque to Scouting for our support for Town Events.

Finally, the Certificate for gaining her Group Scout Leaders Woodbadge was presented to Lisa Swainston.

In his comments the County Commissioner paid tribute to the longevity of Scouting in Irthlingborough placing the Scout Group in the "Premier League of Scouting" Teas and coffees were served by the Scout Troop.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 31 May 2017 20:42