Nene Valley Scouts hold Annual General Meeting at Irthlingborough

The Annual General Meeting of the Nene Valley District Scouts took place at 1st Irthlingborough Scout Headquarters on Thursday 28th June 2012 .

Each year it is planned to move the meeting around the District which extends from Kings Cliffe to the Rushden area.

Groups from the area were represented and welcomed by the District Chairman John Rudge. The District Commissioner Michèle Height reported an excellent year for Scouting and especially highlighted the recent Diamond Jubilee Camp at which more than 600 Young People and their Leaders attended.

Reports were given for Beaver, Cub, Scout, Explorer Scout, and Network Scout activities as well as the plan devised by Nick Powell to expand and develop local Scouting over the next 5 years.

Michèle congratulated all those Leaders who volunteered their time and skills to support the Young People.

The County Commissioner Tony Keay attended and added his words of encouragement and then presented the Wood-badge Training Award to Lisa Swainston of the 1st Irthlingborough Group.

Lisa gained the Award for completing her Leader Training and is the Assistant Group Scout Leader for Scouts and supervises the Troop of over 40 Young People.

Members were elected the Executive Committee to serve over the next year and the meeting concluded with refreshments served by the Irthlingborough Group.

The District Commissioner extended her appreciation for Irthlingborough’s hospitality and said that we should be proud of our achievements.